Creative Nova Scotia Award winners

Creative Nova Scotia Award winners

Granelli wins Portia White Prize; Melanson wins Prix Grand Pré

Internationally acclaimed jazz drummer Jerry Granelli accepted the 2016 Portia White Prize and film-maker Fabien Melanson accepted the Prix Grand Pré at the Creative Nova Scotia Awards gala on Saturday, Nov. 5. The gala is an annual celebration of culture and art in the province including the presentation of $90,000 in prizes and awards.

Jerry Granelli’s career began in San Francisco in the 1960s. He is likely best known for his performance with the Vince Guaraldi Trio on the inaugural A Charlie Brown Christmas, but he has long dedicated himself to more cutting-edge jazz, performing with some of the greatest jazz musicians of the 20th century and recording an album a year since 1987.

The Portia White Prize is named for the Nova Scotia artist who rose through adversity to achieve international acclaim as a classical singer on the great stages of Europe and North and South America. The $25,000 prize recognizes cultural and artistic excellence on the part of a Nova Scotian artist who has attained professional status, mastery and recognition in their discipline. Part of the award is a Protégé award, and the winning artist donates a portion of the prize to an emerging artist or a supportive institution. Mr Granelli chose the 1313 Hollis Street Music Association.

The Masterworks Award, which also carries a cash value of $25,000, is the largest annual award to any work of art in Nova Scotia. Canvas 5 x 5, created by Tedd Robinson (choreographer), Jacinte Armstrong, Rhonda Baker, Susanne Chui, and Ruth-Ellen Kroll-Jackson (dancers), has won the 2016 Award.

Other prizes presented on Saturday were the $10,000 Community Arts and Culture Award, to the Town of Lunenburg; and five $5000 Established Artist Recognition awards to visual artist Bonnie Baker, Annapolis Royal; writer and comedian Christian Murray and dancer and choreographer Jacinte Armstrong, both of Halifax; visual artist François Gaudet, Clare, Digby Co.; and conductor and composer Mark Hopkins, Wolfville.

More information about the awards and winners is available até-prize